Tags

, , , , ,

Here’s my contribution to the Library Day in the Life Round 6: lots and lots of librarians worldwide writing about what they actually do at work.  I’m finding it refreshing to blog about a day rather than a topic, as it allows me to highlight aspects of Special Collections work that don’t lend themselves to the other approach.

100 Objects Bradford motif

100 Objects Bradford motif

Today was fairly typical of days when I have no scheduled meetings or visitors.  After the first check of email, tweets, meeting maker, and blog comments, the day starts with a quick chat with my assistant, John Brooker, about tasks I would like him to do that day, and any fresh enquiries or other news.  Today I asked him to do some photography for 100 Objects Bradford.  New enquiries included checking a particular issue in Senate papers, and one about J.B. Priestley’s Postscripts (made much easier by the articles I wrote about them last summer). We also discussed and responded to proposed building works bringing theHealth Studies Library to fit into the main Library once the department moves to main campus.

Otherwise, I concentrated on marketing and outreach projects and activities.  In particular, work on the 100 Objects exhibition: I completed the next two entries, began work on two more, replied to a nomination for another object from a member of academic staff, and booked a COPAC/Archives Hub feature slot to showcase the exhibition (June 2011).

I finished the Special Collections Spring e-newsletter today.  It is created in Word, and published online in PDF format. I always make sure it is proof-read for typos, and check accessibility for disabled users.  Unfortunately my access to Dreamweaver has gone astray after my PC upgrade a week or so ago, so I’ve raised a job with the IT helpdesk.

Plus:  I responded to a couple of offers of new material (four books by W. Riley – need to compare condition to our existing copies, and photographs of Greenham Common peace camp – need to view them and find out about copyright/licensing).  I’m in London on Thursday for a CILIP Rare Books and Special Collections Group meeting (I’m Treasurer), so, to make best use of my time there, I arranged a couple of other meetings, one with my publishers, Facet.   Many of our book and archive donors are based in London, so a trip often includes a house call to view or collect materials and discuss matters with them, though not on this particular occasion.  I dealt with some incoming post concerning a misplaced payment to the Group.  Other bits and bobs included discussing events with the J.B. Priestley Society, planning some leave, cancelling a training event which clashed with another (both on emergency planning), replying to meeting invitations, and joining a network of staff interested in disability issues.

As always, I was gathering ideas for larger pieces of work: the Special Collections Handbook, our revised emergency plan, and a crowdsourcing project to continue the work of PaxCat.

I may write about one of my more meetingy days later this week, if I get time.

