Tags

,

For the header image, I’ve chosen a detail from our rather dilapidated copy of “Fine Books” by Alfred W. Pollard (Methuen, 1912).  I have to admit I tweaked the colour a little in Paintshop Pro to get the effect of the red and gold, as the original is quite faded now.

This image was chosen partly because I felt the strong black shapes of the WordPress Coraline theme needed something very bright to balance them.  Also because I love books about book collecting from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.  My favourite is “The enemies of books” by William Blades (Trubner & Co., 1880).  Although the enemies have changed somewhat (the perils of maidservants cooking or lighting fires with precious papers seem to feature quite strongly), the concept still makes sense to me!  I will post about this in more detail in future.

