Tags

,

Too peasy for Project, too excessive for Excel?

Most of the projects I manage at the moment fall into this category.

Microsoft Project is way too complicated for the projects I’m managing at the moment.  I don’t find it intuitive to use.  Not to mention I can’t access it at home or on the move.

So I use Excel.  Which is fine for one-off events with simple timings, such as a small exhibition where my team do most of the work, but less so for more complex projects where gantt charts will be helpful.

But I’ve been on the look-out for software that can cope with more complex projects, ideally cloud-based, free, and easy peasy to use.  I think I may have found it in Tom’s Planner, which is currently free and enables you to work directly on your own gantt charts.  The Planner is definitely aimed at managers like me, stranded between Excel and Project.  It’s been around for a while, but I’m now starting to notice people recommending it, which suggests it is worth a try.  I will experiment, and report back!

