Tags

, , ,

Reflections on Facebook and Twitter, a follow-up to my piece on Adam Crymble’s article.

I can’t say much about Facebook, as I have only just begun to build a page for Special Collections on it.  It is slow work.  At present I feel that I am duplicating the work I do on our webpages, blogs etc.  I also do not find Facebook intuitive or fun to use (it’s positively clunky), which puzzles me, as it has been so popular with so many people.  Am I missing something?

Adam Crymble noted that many archive pages were not being actively updated, which suggests that I am not alone in the heritage community in directing my efforts into more rewarding social media. However, I shall persevere with maintaining a basic Facebook presence through which I can direct people to our richer content elsewhere.  Or maybe I will find a unique way that Facebook will help me to reach people, and learn to love it.  We shall see …

I have only been using Twitter for a few months, but I find it useful, inspiring, and fun:

It is like a party, where interesting people introduce me to other interesting people.  Twitter helps me keep up to date with my sector  and to connect with “movers and shakers” in my own University and in my region.

I also think of my twitter feed as a rolling sushi buffet.  Yo Sushi sort of thing. You can dip into it when you want and have time, but if you don’t, it doesn’t matter.  You just pick up where you left off.

Twitter has replaced mailing lists in my professional life.  I relied heavily on these in my early days at Bradford, and got lots of help from people using them.  Now however there are easier ways to find information and opinion.  Most interesting things I see on mailing lists I have already heard about via other media. And so far, fingers crossed!, I have not experienced on Twitter the negative, even hostile, attitudes that make mailing lists unpleasant.  I wonder whether these will follow if the medium becomes more popular, or whether the element of choice in Twitter means that they will simply be filtered out.  We shall see (again) …

