Tags

, , ,

I’m thrilled to be able to share the news that Facet Publishing have commissioned me to write The Special Collections Handbook.  A practical guide to managing Special Collections, all the basics in one handy package!

The book will be published in autumn 2011.  Chapters will cover care of collections, acquisitions and collection development, understanding objects, cataloguing and description, ethics and legal matters, user services, funding and fundraising, marketing and outreach … I’ll emphasise the potential of new technologies, partnerships, social media, and address the realities of tough times and minimal resources.

I’ll be actively seeking input from potential readers in the New Year.  Meanwhile, I’d really appreciate any suggestions for content, case studies, and approach.  Add a comment to this post, or check out other ways to contact me.

I’m working on the draft chapter now, to send to Facet by Christmas.   I produce this early so Facet can make sure the tone and approach work for the markets we have in mind.  The draft chapter is on the care of collections.  I think this is the best place to start when thinking about Special Collections.   It’s also where my own involvement with them began, at Sheffield University: my MA dissertation reflected on the issues involved in conservation and preservation.

