Tags

, , , ,

I’ve had plenty of response to my original post about this issue.   Now for a round-up of some practical stuff.  I find twitter is the best way to keep in touch with cuts and campaigns.  I’d follow @ukpling and @cilip_lsg for starters!

Here are some of the professional organisations which are monitoring proposed cuts to services.  CILIP of course for the library side, including Local Studies Group, Rare Books and Special Collections Group, plus  CILIP branches and home nations.  For  archives, the  Archives and Records Association and the National Archives.

I’ve only talked about the UK so far, but services are under threat all over the world.  Witness for example California, where a budget proposed last week would eliminate all state funding for public libraries.

 

