Tags

, ,

Yesterday we heard from the three major US libraries who have been testing the new cataloguing code RDA: Library of Congress, the National Agricultural Library, and the National Library of Medicine.  Their verdict will be highly significant for the future of the new guidelines.  They decided to implement RDA in 2013,  but the report criticised RDA’s failure to achieve all its stated goals.

I like the ideas behind RDA very much.  The emphasis on things and relationships between them seems to be spot on for Special Collections.  I will explain why I think this when I have thought it through a bit more.  However, from my admittedly superficial engagement with RDA, I think the criticisms in the report are right.  I hope this will lead to an improved version which will make metadata easier  to create and more useful to readers.

