Tags

, , ,

I’ve now set up a website to accompany the Handbook.  It will contain all the web links from the book, regularly reviewed and updated to avoid link rot, plus relevant resources that become available after publication.  I hope the site will help keep the book useful for longer.

A pink château!  Loudenne, from epeigne37's flickr photostream

A pink château! Loudenne, from epeigne37's flickr photostream

Like the book, the site is rather pink! I didn’t choose this colour for the book (I’m more of a purple girl though I do like some pinks) but I like it: think it makes the book distinctive.   I wonder if librarians and other readers, like so many students I’ve met, remember books by colour?  I know I do.

I decided on the Chateau WordPress theme for this particular site. The theme has a historic feel appropriate for Special Collections but is also modern and clean, works well for multiple pages and other aspects of a book website, and allowed for the bit of pink.  We’ll see how it goes and whether site users think it works.

