Tags

, , , ,

After an incredibly busy year, I’ve hit a sort of natural pause in professional activities.   Time to take a breath and look at what I’ve been doing and what’s coming up next.

My year was dominated by work on the RLUK Unique and Distinctive Collections Project, which coincided with a big gap in staff cover and mega building works at Bradford.   Thankfully, I now have staff again and the works are completed bar the snagging.  As for the UDC project, Draft 8 was accepted by the Project Board a week or so ago.  There are still tweaks to make and copy editing to do but these will be done in-house.  I’ll obviously be in close touch with what’s going on, but I’ve finished my formal involvement now.

I realise that since Easter 2011 I’ve spent a huge amount of my time when not at work on professional writing, first the Handbook and then the UDC Project.  I’m not inclined to take on anything else on this sort of scale for a while, as I’m really keen to concentrate on other writing and various sporting, social and household endeavours.  I’ll still be doing lots of writing, presenting and other professional things of course, but nothing quite so all-consuming.

In a related move, I decided to step down as Honorary Treasurer for CILIP Rare Books and Special Collections Group.  I’d learnt all I had to learn from the role and it was time to let someone else have a go.  I’ll be staying on the Committee for the time being to help my successor (Hannah Thomas of the Courtauld) and to help look after the Twitter account.

In the short term, I want to finish my ridiculously overdue 23 Things and tidy up my blogs and other social media stuff.  The next professional thing will be Fellowship.  I’m starting to reflect on this and gather my portfolio.  It’s going to be a very interesting exercise …

