Interesting survey – on a subject very dear to me, as you can probably tell from this blog!

A Mass of Odds and Ends

This past summer I completed an independent study on how archives and special collections use social media. As part of the class, I sent out a survey asking archivists and special collections librarians how their repository uses these platforms (or why they choose not to use social media). I received 185 responses from institutions all across the spectrum – large, small, academic, corporate, religious, etc. The answers to each question ranged from the expected to the surprising. Sorting through the data took me some time, but I am finally ready to share the results with you all.

The following document includes statistics on what types of archives and special collections are and are not using social media, what platforms they use and what they post on them, how they manage their social media presence, and whether or not they consider their program a success, among other things. I could not include…

View original post 51 more words

