The Special Collections Handbook

Back in September (20th to be exact) I went along to a workshop on archives accreditation.  Though I’ve been following the growth of the new standard pretty closely, I still found the event really helpful.  If you’re thinking of applying, do try to get to one of these sessions!

What did I like about this one?

Well, it humanised the standard and the application process and answered several questions that I’d been pondering …  I enjoyed sharing ideas and experience with others thinking of applying.  I was reassured that other services were in the same boat: we played accreditation bingo, crossing off the policies, procedures etc that we already had, and nobody at all had every one of them (I had quite a few and won CHOCOLATE BUTTONS!).

What was covered?

I won’t try to summarise all that was covered – that would make a very very long…

View original post 196 more words

